GOP Announces Winner in South Carolina Primary

The South Carolina GOP reports that Senator Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) has won South Carolina’s GOP Senate primary tonight as he seeks re-election to a fourth term.

Graham has won the primary with a 81% of the vote, unlike his 2014 run where he received barely a majority of votes at 56%. The Associated Press declared Graham the winner shortly after the polls closed at 7 p.m. ET. He was challenged by three other republican opponents, Michael LePierre, Joe Reynolds and Duke Buckner.

In November, Graham will face off against Democrat Jaime Harrison, who ran unopposed.

Graham has seen his profile elevated under the Trump administration as he has come to the aid of the president in key moments during the impeachment hearings and trial and the Mueller investigation into the Russia collusion hoax. Graham, who currently serves as chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee and is in the midst of ordering subpoenas and interviewing witnesses in what is now known as Obamagate.

His rise to stardom in the Senate has made him a key target for democrats, but he is still considered the favorite to win back is seat in November.

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)